Early Morning Visitors

Standard

Image

It got into the 20’s overnite, frost covered everything this morning.

And, yes, I  did forget to bring in some plants from the front porch…..sigh……..

When I went out to the barn to meet the farrier, we both glanced over into my hay field, and there, in the frosty grass, were two deer – down and resting!!! That NEVER happens – especially in the wide open field!!!

We chatted about deer, and elk that he had seen out west. Also, how I have NEVER seen a buck on the property- they are very reclusive.

After the farrier left, I ran in for my camera, and even tho’ I don’t have the best long distance lens, got off a few shots. The deer got up and left, but while I was feeding the horses, the  2 deer returned- and lay back down in the field !  They do feel safe here- but are acutely aware of hunting season, and when danger lurks- and, surprisingly – they seem to know when it is Sunday- when there is no hunting allowed !!!

The pair were definitely aware of me, and cautious, but since I don’t pose a threat, they hung around- at least long enough for me to get a few pix!!

When I got a chance to look at the photos – and zoom in on them – I realized that one of the deer was the ever elusive BUCK!!!! I have now seen the first buck on my property!!!! Had to call the farrier and leave a message telling him – guess what???!! LOL

I don’t want the deer to get to used to me – I have been able to approach-within 20 feet- some of the does who come into the paddocks to graze with the donkeys. But, I do not want to make it easy for the hunters, by making the deer unafraid of humans- sorry, guys !- and that includes, Mr. Green Jeans, who has 2 hunting blinds on the property.

When I called Mr. Green Jeans at work to tell him about our visitors, the neighbors had already called him (!) to tell him what they were seeing in our field!!!  Fortunately, they had already reached their 2 buck limit this season, so this buck is safe from them, should he wander off our property. But, then there is Mr. Green Jeans to contend with………..

While I am not a total “tree hugger”,  I don’t eat alot of meat, and definitely not venison- so I don’t see the point of killing such beauty. But, I do understand, particularly around here, hunting is a generational  lifestyle. Life here in the Gap area centers around hunting season. My only shooting is done with a camera!

Anyway, as I sit here, warming up, with tea in hand – let me share with you just a few of the photos of our morning visitors- the 4/5 point buck and his doe- and fingers crossed that he lives for another year……

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

While all this picture taking was going on, here patiently stood 3 of my babies- John, Yoshi, and Finn- staring thru’ the bars, wondering when I was going to hurry up and let them out into the front paddock !!

Image

About ooglebloops

I am possessed of a creative brain with no direction or set path! Most of that creative activity comes right from the brain thru the fingertips to a keyboard or pen. Now that we have moved to our dream place in the country, that manic creative urge explodes in so many directions, I can't keep up!! Sooo, this blog is an effort to channel the creative urge and display the results of a scattered mind- be it life on the farm, photography, my gardens, or the written word. (My past art-full creative endeavors can be found on:http://www.artfullyooglebloops.blogspot.com) NOW-I am actively posting on www.artfullyooglebloops.wordpress.com Any photos or art work on either of my blogs, are mine and mine ALONE (unless otherwise indicated!). Please do not borrow, lift, use, post or display anywhere without my permission. Thank you! Welcome all!!!!

5 responses »

  1. Love the deer pics. I guess they know a non-venison eater when they see one. 🙂

    Your blog move is a good one for me, because I was often unable to comment on your blogger posts.

Love comments! Please leave one, so I know you were here!!

