Chim Chiminey, Chim Chiminey……

Standard

Chim chim cher-ee!
A sweep is as lucky
As lucky can be………….

I do SO beg to differ!!!!

I was just outside, before the frigid rain started – helping Mr. Green Jeans clean our 2 chimneys!!

Haute couture chimney sweep attire……..hat to ward off rain and soot, glasses to prevent soot from getting in the eyes, D/H’s police raincoat to keep me clean (and it had me tripping all over the place!)

IMG_9540

He was atop the roof, and I was on the ground supposedly  to pull the brush thru the chimney and release a couple of years’ worth of  encrusted ash and soot.

IMG_9542

Sunny, staring out the 2nd floor window, growling at this mysteriously garbed person in the back yard!!! (that would be me!)

IMG_9546

Mr. Green Jeans, taking the caps off

                                                                                                                  WELL!!!!

1st chimney was easy – not much soot at all.

IMG_9541

The 2nd chimney, needed someone with quite a bit more brute strength that I can muster- to try to yank, pull, and/or cajole this brush down and out!!!

Mr. Green Jeans- aka chief chimney sweep, had to climb up and down from the roof, multiple times to get the brush thru.

I was basically of little use!! LOL

On the last try, I did manage to pull the brush thru’- and I am sure my arms and legs will suffer for it in a day or so.

IMG_9548

Clearly, from my point of view, hardly worth all the effort. But, at least it is done!!!

Now, I suppose, we are safe from a chimney fire (fingers crossed!) But, it would have been well worth the money to ME, to have a professional come in and do it.

At least, I did not get covered in soot, and Mr. G.J. did not fall off the roof.

So, all’s well, that ends well – AND, we are still speaking to each other…..!!LOL

And, I SWEAR, this song was running thru’ my brain the WHOLE time!!!!!

 

Chim chiminey
Chim chiminey
Chim chim cher-ee!
A sweep is as lucky
As lucky can be

Chim chiminey
Chim chiminey
Chim chim cher-oo!
Good luck will rub off when
I shake ‘ands with you
Or blow me a kiss
And that’s lucky too

Now as the ladder of life
‘As been strung
You may think a sweep’s
On the bottommost rung

Though I spends me time
In the ashes and smoke
In this ‘ole wide world
There’s no ‘appier bloke

Chim chiminey
Chim chiminey
Chim chim cher-ee!
A sweep is as lucky
As lucky can be

Chim chiminey
Chim chiminey
Chim chim cher-oo!
Good luck will rub off when
I shake ‘ands with you
Or blow me a kiss
And that’s lucky too

Chim chiminey
Chim chiminey
Chim chim cher-ee!
A sweep is as lucky
As lucky can be

Chim chiminey
Chim chiminey
Chim chim cher-oo!
Good luck will rub off when
I shake ‘ands with you
Or blow me a kiss
And that’s lucky too

Chim chiminey
Chim chiminey
Chim chim cher-ee!
When you’re with a sweep
You’re in glad company

No where is there
A more ‘appier crew
Than them wot sings
“Chim chim cher-ee
Chim cher-oo!”
On the chim chiminey
Chim chim cher-ee
Chim cher-oo!

 

Sing along- with my favorite Dick Van Dyke!!!!! LINK

About ooglebloops

I am possessed of a creative brain with no direction or set path! Most of that creative activity comes right from the brain thru the fingertips to a keyboard or pen. Now that we have moved to our dream place in the country, that manic creative urge explodes in so many directions, I can't keep up!! Sooo, this blog is an effort to channel the creative urge and display the results of a scattered mind- be it life on the farm, photography, my gardens, or the written word. (My past art-full creative endeavors can be found on:http://www.artfullyooglebloops.blogspot.com) NOW-I am actively posting on www.artfullyooglebloops.wordpress.com Any photos or art work on either of my blogs, are mine and mine ALONE (unless otherwise indicated!). Please do not borrow, lift, use, post or display anywhere without my permission. Thank you! Welcome all!!!!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Chim Chiminey, Chim Chiminey…… « Ooglebloops’s World

  2. I LOVE your outfit! I had a wood burning fireplace in Calif. and called a service to clean the chimney. Of course, I was living alone and cleaning it myself was not an option. When we built the house here we were going to get a wood burning fireplace but our builder talked us into gas logs. Given our globe-trotting schedule, sooo glad he did. But I do miss the ambience of wood burning in a fireplace.

  3. Truly loved the garb and adorable post. I’ll sing along with you, since I’ve been singing the song ever since I read the name of the post. I actually stopped by to wish you a lovely Christmas, filled with love and cheer. And great fireplace happiness, too.

Love comments! Please leave one, so I know you were here!!

